I’m Learning To Deal With The Doubt Attached To Being A Writer

I won’t lie, people give me strange reactions when I say that I want to pursue a career in writing.

They don’t doubt that I can do it, they doubt it’s actually a career. I see it written across their faces, despite the income I’ve earned over the years from being a freelance writer for many inbound marketing agencies and clients.

I’m not sure why but there’s a stigma attached to being a writer. People tend to think it’s merely something you do to pass time when you’re 65 years old and retired from work.

It irked me.

Other peoples doubts tend to rub off on me when it’s so consistent and so apparent. It bothered me at first but now I’m starting to deal with it quite well. It lights a fire in my ass to succeed as a writer and show them what it truly means to be a writer/author!

As of late, I’m searching for the positives to any given situation and it helps me work with a sense of ease. I’m enjoying myself as a writer these days. So much so that it resembles how i felt a few years ago when I started.

I don’t know what others think but to me, success requires complete commitment. Being a writer/author is just as legit and demanding of a career choice as that of an accountant or entrepreneur or manager. If anything, it requires us to be all of that and MORE!

Try to ignore other peoples doubt if you truly have the desire, commitment and dedication to pursue your dreams. Eventually, hard work adds up and results will appears. That’s just the formula for success.

Hope you’re having a productive monday, I sure am! Destroyed a couple thousand words, wrote this blog post, exercised, marketed, built some backlinks to a niche site I’m working on and practiced by creative thinking skills.

All in all, it’s been anything but a blue monday.

Catch you tomorrow,

Z.K

Leave a Reply

