I’m not concerned about being perfect anymore

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m my biggest critic. For a long time, nothing I wrote was good enough for me, regardless of what other people would say. Compliments were forgotten in a heartbeat and problems were on my mind all the time.

The idea of being perfect riddled my brain with insecurity, excessive self criticism and doubt.

I think this was the main reason why I quit writing for a few months. It became too daunting and stressful.

Nowadays, I don’t care much for perfection. If I make a mistake, I’ll learn from it and get it right the next time. I’m not going to destroy my psyche with the unwarranted expectation to be perfect.

Losers focus on winners. Winners focus on winning.

To hell with trying to be a perfect writer for people. I just want to be the greatest writer even with imperfections. Because I’ll tell you what, I can write for my entire life if it feels as good as it feels now 🙂

Today I’m going to take a break from fiction and write a few thousand words on my productivity book. I’ve found some great techniques to get things done so I want to share that with you and other like minded people.

Have an epic weekend and I’ll catch you on monday.

Z.K

One thought on “I’m not concerned about being perfect anymore

  1. Dawningmoon January 14, 2017 / 7:58 am

    I really agree, it’s hard to be perfect and most of the time I just focus on it the next time, editing and revising is what really makes a book better than the last, rather than worry over every single mistake, it would hamper my writing quite a lot in terms of productivity as I would take a longer time just to write a chapter than usual.

Leave a Reply

