Disturbances In Dialogue

Dialogue is a pain in the ass when getting into the swing of writing fiction again.

I hit a wall today when trying to write an emotionally challenging scene between the protagonist and the antagonist of my story. The hero is strapped to a table, drowsy and trying to make heads or tails of where he is whilst the villain is hovering over a table preparing to inflict damage onto the little hero. 

Now, at this point, the hero is supposed to experience absolute fear and one of his quirks is to talk excessively when nervous or afraid. The villain is more of a poetic old man who tests people with riddles and unnecessary tales. 

A conversation between someone emotive and someone cold and calculated is a tough one for me to write. 

I felt like it was flowing too unnaturally. Something felt off, especially for the situation they were in. 

After some research, I found distractions. People cut each other off, especially in times of turmoil. It’s weird how good the dialogue started to flow when I had my talkative main character try to fill the air with ridiculous taunts in order to buy time and compose himself enough to think of a plan.

That’s all for today. I worked all day and I’m completely exhausted. How’s things going? Share some of your writing woes with me in the comment section below 🙂 

Z.k

Leave a Reply

