Starting Afresh

It has been almost a year, if not longer, since I’ve published a blog post on any personal blog and much of that is due to my inability to promote and market myself.

If you just scroll down, you’ll find an article I wrote about being embarrassed of being a writer. Don’t get me wrong, it had nothing to do with the art of writing. On the contrary, my embarrassment was personal in nature. I was afraid to attach my name to my own work. Maybe because I lacked confidence in my abilities or in myself as a writer but I’m finally prepared to start afresh.

In the world of publishing and authorship, hiding behind a fake face or name is far too common. I’ve come to realize that to be a true writer and author requires me to embrace the art completely. Heck, I’d go so far as to call it a way of living.

Beat anonymity and define a voice. Allow your name to float around the cyber sea and create a tribe of 1000 true followers who appreciate what you do and who you are – a writer.

That’s the message I want to relate to anyone who may be reading this right now and is going through the same battles I faced as a writer.

From now onward, I will forever introduce myself as Author Zak Khan. Thank you for taking the time to read this quick update and I would love if you could hold me accountable. I pledge to blog consistently and completely commit myself to being a fictional author.

I pledge authorship to be my lifelong goal. Do you?

Leave a Reply

