Scatter Your Clues – Fictional Writing Tips

I recently began dusting the virtual dust collecting on my fictional series and got back to wearing my thinking cap. Though I loved the original concept and flow, I decided to rethink the details of my story.

Thus, I marched forward on my quest to creating an improved story line. First off, scatter the clues. Mystery is an essential building block to a good fictional book. You, as the writer, have complete control over how your story pans out. Which means, you hold the deck of cards and the way you deal them will result in whether you win or lose.

Now, at this point I realized something concerning yet true – No matter how you scatter the clues, mystery will never make up for a poor story line.

Regardless of whether your book relates to teen girl experiencing young love or an epic hero trying to fulfill a prophecy, if there’s no sequence of relevant dialogue and connecting story bits that make up the crux of your book, it will be fruitless.

A tree is made off roots, trunk, bark, branches, leaves and sometimes fruits or flowers. Similarly, your book needs a main plot, subplots, sub-sub plot, scattered clues, connected clues and finally the pieces of a puzzle that is placed together which presents a big, completed picture.

Here’s where things get fun guys. I am going to document the process of writing my books in a manner that is kind of unorthodox. Instead of focusing on the publishing phase, or the how to write phase, I’ll speak more on the construction of plot and the mindset behind creating a design and then breaking it up into pieces. 

Over To You

Is there anything in particular you have learnt from fictional writing or reading for that matter. I’d love to hear from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

