Hard Facts About Amazon Self Publishing

Amazon-Kindle-and-books-

Some of you may be aware of this but not so longer ago I published my first kindle ebook on Amazon. Though the experience was not ‘profitable’ in the sense of monetary value, it was sure as hell profitable in other ways.

I learnt a heck of a lot from this experience and it has equipped me with a few lessons that I plan on practicing upon my next eBook launch (which is probably going to happen within the next week).

On that note, I figured it would really be great idea for me to share the lessons I learnt from the entire KDP experience so that perhaps you can avoid making the same mistakes I did and promote your chances of success :).

Nevertheless, these are some cold hard facts about Amazon Self Publishing.

1. You truly need reviews to get any substantial rankings and earnings.

I know they say that on the blogosphere, building backlinks from ‘Authoritative’ sites is extremely helpful for ranking. On Amazon, I believe authoritative reviews is what gives you a great ranking for any particular keyword you choose. Obviously, it needs to be specific and related to your eBook. On that note, I did not use my 5 day free promotion benefit which the KDP system provided effectively.

In saying that, use those 5 days to get as MUCH reviews on your book as possible. I don’t believe there’s anything wrong with requesting your family or friends to leave an honest review during this 5 day period on your book. Get it out there, get some honest reviews and that’s definitely going to help your book sell or rank better in your chosen category.

2. Fictional in general is more lucrative than non-fiction.

This is debatable but here’s my reasoning – It’s hard to believe this since I always had the impression that when someone needs help, on matters dealing with every day life, they’re willing to pay the price for such help. That wasn’t exactly the case. I wrote about dating advice for men – which was actually too niche specific and probably men aren’t willing to pay for dating advice simply because of ego or personal standing.

Of course, one can argue that maybe the fault was with my book rather than the audience. It’s a subjective thing because it’s hard to ever imagine what someone knows or does not know on the internet. So, in the regard I think fictional is definitely a better choice. I eventually plan on getting my fictional book out there however you know the what it’s like to be a perfectionist, all writers tend to hit that phase and it’s gruesome. Who knows how long it may take for that to be completed.

3. If you write blindly, without any research regarding the topic, chances are your sales will be minimal.

Once again, I really think research expands into the sphere of publishing. Let’s be honest with each other, if research is such a critical step to writing, it ought to be just as important to the actual publishing phase. My next book is on writing, I researched and believe that it’s a much better topic to write about in comparison to dating for men. It’s not a massive shift, it’s still in non-fiction and does explore self development to an extent but more specific to writers yet broad enough for a big market/audience.

Keep that in mind – Audience, Genre, Category, Competition and Scope. Get the research done and the rest will fall in place.

4. Your cover does 50% of the marketing.

Here’s the catch, I have a buddy who designed my book covers who is also a fellow blogger (check him out at Vishal4nw). I truly believe the reason the dating advice book actually caught some attention was because the cover was unique. Whilst all the other books displayed women flocking over men or whatever, this was a vector sort of comic book design cover.

I got him to do the same for my next book except this time he took it a notch higher and designed an even catchier/unique cover.

My advice to you is never rush your book cover. Don’t put together a cropped image with cuttings from other images around the net. Rather go with a simple yet smashing font on a plain background in contrast to a sloppy cover designed on paint.

5. Patience is the key to self publishing on KDP.

No book blows up over night unless you’re like Stephen king but that’s not to say that after a few weeks or days or months, one odd night, you book explodes and goes viral. That is possible but please don’t just publish with the expectation of it selling thousands within that week.

I don’t mean to sound like such a downer it’s just I don’t want you to have these expectations and then give up on writing because it doesn’t pan out the way you planned. It would be really disheartening to see that happen. I’ve seen some real talent go to waste because of it so please do the research, have some realistic goals but still dream big!

Over To You –

Alright, I do hope you found some value in this article and perhaps it will work to your favor. Feel free to hit me up with an email if you want some help or clarity on the matter. Now, I ask you, do you have an experience or lesson or story with publishing to share with me?

I’d love to hear back from you and I’m keen to learn a few more lessons through your KickAss experiences 🙂

Leave a Reply

