The Two Most Valuable Lesson I’ve Learnt Online As A Writer

It has been over 3 years since I’ve taken to the internet as either a blogger, freelancer, photographer and writer. In that time, the most notable change in my life would certainly be my work ethic. Though I haven’t ever viewed my personal blogs as ‘professional’, I have learnt that any piece of work ought to be attempted and tackled with due regard to professionalism.

Never publish content, especially as a writer, that you (at the time) do not perceive to be your Best. It’s essential that your best is what you bring forth because without having that confidence of knowing you put your best foot forward, it’s hard to see you chasing up opportunities and accomplishing the goals you set out.

If you believe in your work, that’s when you can truly prove yourself to others who have an interest in what you have to say. It’s not just about writing to please others, it’s about writing to please yourself. Wouldn’t you feel awesome knowing that out there on the cybernet you’ve produced some really entertaining pieces of content?

I ‘preach’ this lesson from experience.

Secondly, build a ‘tribe‘.You may have read about this over at Goinswriter, but for the sake of those who haven’t, a tribe is a group of supporting readers. In simpler words, passionate followers. Those that appreciate You and those that You appreciate. I want this blog to be that home for my tribe. I want to share my success and failures with you, grow as writers and become better professionals along the way.

So, just to recap:

  1. Give it your best effort every single time.
  2. Build a tribe. 

Over to you:

What are some of the lessons you’ve learnt over the years online? It doesn’t necessarily have to do with writing, it could even be about having a great social following or publishing or whatever.

2 thoughts on “The Two Most Valuable Lesson I’ve Learnt Online As A Writer

  1. Godless Cranium June 10, 2014 / 1:24 pm

    I’m with you on the tribe part. I like doing that more because I love the interaction and the different opinions. That’s important to me. I also spend time looking at, commenting, reading, favoriting other people’s work. I especially try to support blogs I follow.

    • Zak June 10, 2014 / 1:36 pm

      Hey there.

      It’s great that you take the time to do all of that. I truly believe that these little acts is what promotes some intimacy or personal touch to this digital world.

      Kudos to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

